Total membership in the Organization includes 81 States and six associate members. The Organization is made up of three principal organs—the General Conference, the Executive Board, and the Secretariat. The General Conference is the policy-making body. It meets every two years and its main functions are to consider applications for membership, elect the Executive Board, plan the program and approve the budget for the ensuing two-year period.

In accordance with resolutions adopted at the 1956 General Conference held in New Delhi, India, UNESCO is now working actively on three major projects: the extension of primary education in Latin America; scientific research on arid lands; and the mutual appreciation of the cultural values of the Occident and the Orient. The tenth session of the General Conference held in Paris in November 1958 adopted plans to further these projects and to carry out other activities in UNESCO's program areas of education, natural sciences, social sciences, cultural activities, mass communications, technical assistance and exchange of persons. The Organization's budget for 1960 is approximately \$13,000,000. At the Canadian assessment level of 2.94 p.c., Canada's contribution for the period is in the neighbourhood of \$380,000.

In Canada, the Department of External Affairs discharges the responsibilities arising from membership in an international intergovernmental organization. It has the advice and assistance of the Canadian National Commission for UNESCO which was established by the Canada Council in August 1957. The National Commission is the agency responsible for co-ordinating Canadian participation in UNESCO's program both at home and abroad. Twenty-eight representatives of voluntary organizations and public bodies constitute the formal membership of the Commission. Part of this membership is chosen on a rotating basis, biennially, from a group of some 50 national voluntary organizations associated with the Commission as "co-operating bodies". The National Commission also has a number of consulting members who represent government agencies. Its first annual meeting and national conference was held in Montreal in March 1959. The Commission's secretariat is located in Ottawa at the Headquarters of the Canada Council.

PART III.—SCIENTIFIC AND INDUSTRIAL RESEARCH

Section 1.—The National Research Council*

History and Organization.—Organized research in Canada on a national basis dates from 1916 when the Government of Canada established the Honorary Advisory Council for Scientific and Industrial Research under a Committee of the Privy Council. Provision was made for the planning and integration of research work, organization of co-operative investigations, postgraduate training of research workers, and prosecution of research through grants-in-aid to university professors. This was the basis of the Council's work from 1916 to 1924.

A Special Committee of Parliament, appointed to study a recommendation for establishing national laboratories, endorsed the proposal and the Research Council Act was revised by Parliament in 1924. Temporary laboratories were secured and research on utilization of magnesian limestone for refractories was carried out so successfully that a wartime industry, established during World War I, was re-established on a large scale. As a result of this achievement the Government, in 1929-30, provided funds for new laboratories.

The National Research Building on Sussex Drive, Ottawa, was opened in 1932, and in 1939 construction was begun of the aerodynamics building on a 130-acre site on the Montreal Road just east of the city. Later, other buildings were erected on this site, including woodworking and metalworking shops and separate laboratories for research

^{*} Prepared by R. A. Lay, Public Relations Office, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa.